# Whip Review Committee Decisions 2 July 2024

On Tuesday 2 July 2024 the Whip Review Committee convened to consider potential breaches of Rule (F)45 following referrals from the racecourse Stewards and their own independent review of races for races run from 27 June – 30 June 2024, inclusive. A summary of their findings is outlined below.

#### Nottingham 27 June 2024

## Race 4 - The Nottingham Racecourse Supporting Racing Staff Handicap Stakes (Class 6)

Edward Greatrex, the rider of LUNARSCAPE, unplaced, was found to have used his whip without giving his mount time to respond approximately one furlong out. He will be suspended for 4 days from Tuesday 16 to Friday 19 July inclusive.

## **Hamilton Park 27 June 2024**

Race 1 – The Greenversity Saints & Sinners Amateur Jockeys' Handicap Stakes (Class 6) (For the Saints & Sinners Challenge Cup)

Mr Freddie Keighley, the rider of RORY THE CAT (IRE), unplaced, was found to have used his whip once above the permitted level of six from approaching three furlongs out. He will be suspended for 4 days as follows: Wednesday 24, Thursday 25, Monday 29, and Tuesday 30 July.

#### Cartmel 28 June 2024

## Race 7 – The Dinosaurs Amateur Jockeys' Handicap Hurdle Race (Class 4)

Miss Lauren Sanders, the rider of RHYME SCHEME (IRE), unplaced, was found to have used her whip without giving her mount time to respond on at least four occasions. She will be suspended for 13 days as follows: Saturday 20 and Thursday 25 July, Saturday 17 August, and Sunday 1 September and on 9 further dates to be notified to her by the BHA.

#### Bangor-on-Dee 28 June 2024

## Race 1 – The Glast-On-Dee Music Night Handicap Steeple Chase (Class 4)

James Davies, the rider of the winner, EXMOOR FOREST (IRE), was found to have used his whip once above the permitted level of seven from after the third last fence. Taking into account that this was to be Davies' fourth suspension within the previous 6 months for using his whip above the permitted level, Davies was referred to the Judicial Panel.

#### **Panel**

Sam Angell (Chair) Adam Barker Gregory Pearson